PAST 2024 EVENTS

 

VOLUNTEER AT THE CHICAGO FOOD DEPOSITORY
Saturday, January 20, 2024, 1-4pm
Advance Registration Required – Learn more

OPALGA+ ANNUAL MEETING AND BRUNCH
Sunday, January 21, 2024, 11am-1:30pm
Robert’s West Side, 7321 Madison St., Forest Park
For 2024 Paid Members – Join or renew your membership

OPALGA+ STORYTELLING EVENT + SNACKS
Saturday, January 27, Starts 4pm
815 Wisconsin Ave., Oak Park – RSVP (max 25)

MONTHLY RESTAURANT OUTING –
ENCORE! BY LITTLE GEM
Wednesday, January 31, 2024, 6:30pm
187 Marion St., Oak Park – Advance RSVP required

FEBRUARY POTLUCK
Friday, February 9 – 7-10pm
300 Scottswood Rd., Riverside – Learn more
Bring household items to donate to migrants

MARCH POTLUCK 
Friday, March 8, 7-10pm
Good Earth Greenhouse
7900 Madison St., River Forest – Learn more

5 LESBIANS EATING A QUICHE
Sunday, March 10, 4-6pm
Pilgrim Congregational Church, 460 Lake St.
Sold Out – $10 General Admission

2024 GALA PLANNING KICK-OFF MEETING
Monday, March 18, 6-7:30pm
Penny’s Oak Park – 1130 Chicago Ave., Oak Park
Join the Gala Planning Committee – Enjoy dinner on us!

OPALGA+ PUBLIC INDOOR ICE SKATING OUTING
Friday, March 22, 6:30-8 p.m. – pay at the door
Ridgeland Commons, 415 Lake St. – Learn more

OPALGA+ / UNITY TEMPLE BLOOD DRIVE
Saturday, March 30 – 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.
Unity Temple Community Center, 1019 South Blvd, OP
Learn more and sign up to donate in the future!

THRIVE WITH PRIDE INTERGENERATIONAL DINNER
Thursday, April 4, 6-8 p.m.
Age Options Oak Park, 1048 Lake St.

VOLUNTEER: RE-PACKING AT THE FOOD DEPOSITORY
Saturday, April 6, 1-4 p.m. – Advanced Registration Req’d
Greater Chicago Food Depository, 4100 W Ann Lurie Pl

APRIL OPALGA+ POTLUCK – NEW LOCATION
Friday, April 12, 7-10 p.m.
719 Bonnie Brae, River Forest – Learn more

PLAYDATES FOR FAMILIES WITH KIDS
Saturday, April 20, 10 a.m.- noon – Learn more
Rehm Park, 1000 S Scoville Ave., Oak Park

RESTAURANT OPALGA+ OUTING
Tuesday, April 23, 6:30-8:30 p.m. – Learn more
Taco Mucho, 220 Harrison St., Oak Park

BOWLING OPALGA+ OUTING – NEW DATE
Sunday, April 28, 1-3 p.m. – Learn more
Circle Lanes, 7244 Circle Ave., Forest Park

MAY POTLUCK TEEN-FRIENDLY EVENT
Friday, May 10, 7-10 p.m.
332 Wisconsin Ave., Oak Park – Learn more

OPALGA+ MEMBERS ARCHITECTURE TOUR
Saturday, May 11, 11 a.m. – 1 p.m.
Downtown Chicago – At capacity – Learn more

SAVE QUEER LIVES ON THE WEST SIDE
Thursday, May 16, 7-8:30 p.m. – Learn more
Oak Park Library, 834 Lake St., Oak Park

PLAYDATES FOR FAMILIES WITH KIDS
Sunday, May 19, 10 a.m. – noon – Learn more
Rehm Park, 1000 S Scoville Ave., Oak Park

OPALGA+ OUTING TO CANDYCOPIA
Tuesday, May 21, 7-8:30 p.m. – Learn more
Candycopia, 717 Lake St., Oak Park – Advance Payment Req’d

MARCH IN RIVER FOREST MEMORIAL DAY PARADE
Monday, May 27, meet at 8 a.m.; line up 9 a.m.
Meet at John Becvar’s House (719 Bonnie Brae)

OPALGA+ QUEER FILM SYLVIA SCARLETT DISCUSSION
Tuesday, May 28, 5:30-8 p.m. – Learn more
Oak Park Public Library, Lake St., Oak Park

OPALGA+ DONUT DAY AT FARMERS MARKET
Saturday, June 1, 6-11 a.m. – Buy Donuts and Support OPALGA+
Pilgrim Church, 460 Lake St., Oak Park

OPALGA+ PRIDE MONTH KICK OFF PARTY
Saturday, June 1, 8 p.m – late, Learn more
Fitzgerald’s, 6615 Roosevelt Rd., Berwyn

OPALGA+ TABLE AT DAY IN OUR VILLAGE
Sunday, June 2, 11 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Scoville Park, Lake St., Oak Park

RIVER FOREST PRIDE & INCLUSION WALK
Monday, June 3, 6-7 p.m. – Stop by our table!
Lincoln Elementary School, Lake St., River Forest

OPALGA+ JUNE POTLUCK 
Friday, June 14, 7-10 p.m.
122 Elgin Ave., Forest Park – Learn more

OPALGA+ OUTING TO CUBS PRIDE GAME
Monday, June 17, 7:05 p.m.
Wrigley Field, Chicago – Advance Ticket Req’d

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PAST 2023 EVENTS


ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING

Sunday, January 22, 2023, 12noon-1:30pm
In-Person for Members who paid their 2023 dues
Others able to attend via Zoom

FEBRUARY POTLUCK
Friday, February 10, 7-10pm
349 Ashland Ave, River Forest – Learn more

FAMILY PLAYDATE
Sunday, February 19, 10am-12n
Let’s Play Work, Forest Park – Learn more

MONTHLY RESTAURANT OUTING
Tuesday, February 28, 6:30pm
Victory Italian Oak Park – Learn more

MARCH POTLUCK
Friday, March 10, 7-10pm
281 Bloomingbank Rd, Riverside – Learn more

OSCAR VIEWING PARTY
Sunday, March 12, Red carpet beginning at 5:30pm
American House Oak Park, 703 Madison, Oak Park – Learn more

BEYOND THE BINARY WORKSHOP
Tuesday, March 14, 6:30pm
Brewpoint Craft Cafe, 163 S Oak Street, Oak Park – Learn more

MONTHLY RESTAURANT OUTING
Tuesday, March 28, 6:30pm – Limit 25 people – Learn more
Khyber Pass, 1031 Lake Street, Oak Park

APRIL POTLUCK
Friday, April 14, 7-10pm – Learn more
512 S. Oak Park Avenue, Oak Park

PFLAG SPEAKER EVENT – GENDER EXPRESSION
Sunday, April 23, 3pm
First United Church of Oak Park, 848 Lake St.

COMMUNITY ADVOCACY TEAM MEETING
Monday, April 24, 7pm – Unity Temple and Zoom

MONTHLY RESTAURANT OUTING
Tuesday, April 25, 6:30pm – Limit 25 people – Learn more
Jerusalem Cafe Oak Park, 1030 Lake Street, Oak Park

VOLUNTEER: CHICAGO FOOD DEPOSITORY
Saturday, May 6, 1-4pm – Advance Registration Required
4100 W. Ann Lurie Place, Chicago – AT CAPACITY

MAY POTLUCK
Friday, May 12, 7-10pm – Learn more
332 Wisconsin Avenue, Oak Park

PLAYDATES FOR FAMILIES WITH KIDS
Saturday, May 20, 10am-noon,
Rehm Park, 1000 S Scoville Avenue, Oak Park, IL – Learn more

BOWLING OUTING
Sunday, May 21, 1-3pm – Advanced RSVP required
Circle Bowling Lanes, Forest Park, IL – Learn more

MONTHLY RESTAURANT OUTING
Tuesday, May 23, 6:30pm – At capacity – $30 in advance
Anfora Wine Merchants, 128 S. Marion St., Oak Park

MEMORIAL DAY PARADE
Monday, May 29, 8:15am meet at 719 Bonnie Brae;
9:00am – line-up #16 at Thomas/Ashland in River Forest;
9:30am – River Forest parade – March with us! Learn more

RIVER FOREST SCHOOL DISTRICT 90 PRIDE WALK
Thursday, June 1, 6-7pm
River Forest Village Hall, 400 Park Ave. River Forest – Learn more

CHICAGO FRONTRUNNERS OAK PARK GATHERING
Saturday, June 3, 9:30am (run – free), 10:30 (brunch – $25)
Register in advance and meet at Scoville Park
Brunch at 639 Fair Oaks, Oak Park – Come meet the group!

A DAY IN OUR VILLAGE
Sunday, June 4, 11am-4pm
Scoville Park, 800 Lake Street, Oak Park – Stop by our booth!

JUNE POTLUCK
Friday, June 9, 7-10pm
122 Elgin Avenue, Forest Park – Learn more

OPALGA+ DONUT DAY AT FARMER’S MARKET
Saturday, June 10, 6am-noon
Pilgrim Church, 460 Lake Street, Oak Park – Volunteer

OPALGA+ OUTING TO CHICAGO CUBS
Tuesday, June 13, 7pm Game
Wrigley Field, Chicago, IL – Tickets in Advance

ASK A QUEER NEIGHBOR PANEL EVENT
Tuesday, June 13, 6:30pm-8pm
Forest Park Library, 7555 Jackson Blvd., Forest Park – Learn more

JUNETEENTH PARADE AND COMMUNITY COOKOUT
Sunday, June 18, 10am (meet) and 11am (march)
Oak Park – Come march with us! Learn more

THURSDAY PRIDE NIGHT OUT IN OAK PARK 
Thursday, June 22, 6-9pm,
Downtown Oak Park Marion Street – Learn more

FOREST PARK PRIDE STROLL & DRAG PERFORMANCE
Friday, June 23, 5-8pm
Downtown Forest Park Madison Street – Learn more

FAMILY PRIDE PICNIC AND PARTY
Saturday, June 24, 11am-2pm, free
Oak Park Village Hall South Lawn  – Learn more

FAMILY PRIDE PICNIC
Saturday, June 24, 1-4pm, free
River Forest United Methodist Church, 7970 Lake St

TRANSGENDER EXPERIENCE PANEL DISCUSSION
Wednesday, June 28, 6-8pm, free
Madison Street Theater, 1010 Madison St, Oak Park – Learn more

OAK PARK 4TH OF JULY PARADE
Tuesday, July 4, 9am (meet) and 10am (march)
Oak Park – Come march with us! – Learn more

JULY POTLUCK
Friday, July 14, 7-10pm
1145 S East Avenue, Oak Park – Learn more

OPALGA+ PICNIC AND ICE CREAM SOCIAL
Saturday, July 22, 11am-2pm, FREE!
Taylor Park, 400 Division Street, Oak Park – Learn more

MONTHLY RESTAURANT OUTING: ONE LAKE BREWING
Wednesday, July 26, 6:30pm, Advance RSVP Required
One Lake Brewing, 1 Lake St., Oak Park – Learn more

OPALGA+ OUTING: MIDSUMMER NIGHT’S DREAM
Friday, July 28, 7pm – $25 tickets (rain rescheduled)
Austin Gardens, 167 Forest Ave., Oak Park – Learn more

VOLUNTEER WITH OPRF TOWNSHIPS BACKPACK PROGRAM
Tuesday, August 8 and Friday, August 11
105 S Oak Park Avenue, Oak Park, IL

AUGUST POTLUCK (w/donations for Sarah’s Inn)
Friday, August 11, 7-10pm
1844 N Nagle Ave, Chicago – Learn more

MONTHLY RESTAURANT OUTING: CUCINA PARADISO
Tuesday, August 22, 6:30pm
814 North Blvd., Oak Park – Advance $45 payment – Learn more

PLAYDATES FOR FAMILIES WITH KIDS
Sunday, August 27, 10am-noon,
Rehm Park, 1000 S Scoville Avenue, Oak Park – Learn more

SEPTEMBER POTLUCK
Friday, September 8, 7-10pm
220 Franklin Avenue, River Forest

ST CHARLES PADDLEBOAT CRUISE
Saturday, September 9, 3-5pm w/Chicago Prime Timers
8 North Avenue, St Charles – $14 – Learn more

PLAYDATES FOR FAMILIES WITH KIDS
Saturday, September 23, 10am-noon,
Rehm Park, 1000 S Scoville Avenue, Oak Park – Learn more

VOLUNTEER AT THE CHICAGO FOOD DEPOSITORY
Saturday, September 23, 1-3:45pm
Advance Registration Required, Chicago, IL

OCTOBER POTLUCK – Halloween Edition
Saturday, October 14, 7-10pm – dress up in costume
528 Wesley Avenue, Oak Park – Learn more

ANNUAL SCHOLARSHIP GALA 2023
Saturday, October 21, 6-11pm – SOLD OUT
Nineteenth Century Club, 178 Forest Ave., Oak Park – Learn more

MONTHLY RESTAURANT OUTING – KETTLESTRINGS TAVERN
Wednesday, October 25, 6:30pm
800 S Oak Park Avenue, Oak Park – Learn more

PARK DISTRICT TRUNK OR TREAT EVENT 
Friday, October 27, 5-7pm – free family fun
Ridgeland Commons Recreation Center, 415 Lake St., Oak Park

NOVEMBER POTLUCK
Friday, November 10, 7-10pm
1043 S. Harvey Avenue, Oak Park – Learn more

DOMINICAN UNIVERSITY “The Prom”
Saturday, November 11, 7pm (meet 6:40 in the lobby)
Lund Auditorium, River Forest – $18 – Learn more

TRANS & NON-BINARY & ALLY WORKSHOP
Wednesday, November 15, 6-7:15pm
Oak Park Library, 834 Lake St, Oak Park – Learn more

VIRTUAL WORKSHOP: GENDER AFFIRMING CARE
Tuesday, November 28, 7-8:15pm
Virtual – Advanced Registration Required – Learn more

DECEMBER POTLUCK
Friday, December 8, 7-10pm
639 Fair Oaks Avenue, Oak Park – Learn more

FAMILY DRAG BINGO BRUNCH
Sunday, December 10, 12:30-2pm
Oak Park Public Library, 834 Lake St. – Learn more

MONTHLY RESTAURANT OUTING – TRATTORIA 225
Wednesday, December 13, 6:30pm – Learn more
225 Harrison St., Oak Park – $45/person paid in advance